Created page with "'''<font face = arial light> <font color = maroon> <font size = 3>Unfinished History</font></font> </font>''' Image:Meiggs-Wharf-c-1865-75-JJ Getty.jpg '''Meiggs Wharf, seen in this photo from the slopes of Telegraph Hill extending northward into the bay sometime between 1865-1875, started from the corner of today's Powell and Francisco Streets, now many blocks from the shoreline.''' ''Photo: J.J. Reilly, courtesy Getty collection'' Image:Meiggs-Wharf-from-Russ..." |
added photos |
||
| Line 1: | Line 1: | ||
'''<font face = arial light> <font color = maroon> <font size = 3>Unfinished History</font></font> </font>''' | '''<font face = arial light> <font color = maroon> <font size = 3>Unfinished History</font></font> </font>''' | ||
[[Image:View northwest from Telegraph Hill. Meiggs' Wharf, Marin Headlands, Mt. Tamalpais, Fort Alcatraz. 1856 opensfhistory wnp37.02199.jpg|800px]] | |||
'''View northwest from Telegraph Hill of Meiggs' Wharf, Marin headlands, Mt. Tamalpais, and Fort Alcatraz, 1856.''' | |||
''Photo: OpenSFHistory.org wnp37.02199'' | |||
[[Image:Meiggs-Wharf-c-1865-75-JJ Getty.jpg]] | [[Image:Meiggs-Wharf-c-1865-75-JJ Getty.jpg]] | ||
| Line 6: | Line 12: | ||
''Photo: J.J. Reilly, courtesy Getty collection'' | ''Photo: J.J. Reilly, courtesy Getty collection'' | ||
[[Image:Meiggs' Wharf Jul 11, 1864 opensfhistory wnp27.3796.jpg|800px]] | |||
'''View east from end of Meiggs' Wharf, July 11, 1864, Telegraph Hill in distance.''' | |||
''Photo: OpenSFHistory.org wnp27.3796'' | |||
[[Image:Meiggs Wharf at left. Extended from present Francisco St. between Mason and Powell to approximately today's Embarcadero. At Francisco St. end, Abe Warner's Cobweb Palace saloon. c1867 opensfhistory wnp37.00681-L.jpg|800px]] | |||
'''Meiggs' Wharf at left, extending from present Francisco Street between Mason and Powell to approximately today's Embarcadero. At the Francisco Street beginning of the wharft stood Abe Warner's [[Cobweb Palace|Cobweb Palace]] saloon.''' | |||
''Photo: OpenSFHistory.org wnp37.00681-L'' | |||
[[Image:Meiggs-Wharf-from-Russian-Hill-John-P-Soule-1870 Getty.jpg]] | [[Image:Meiggs-Wharf-from-Russian-Hill-John-P-Soule-1870 Getty.jpg]] | ||
| Line 12: | Line 30: | ||
''Photo: John P. Soule, courtesy Getty collection'' | ''Photo: John P. Soule, courtesy Getty collection'' | ||
[[Image:C 1882 View from Telegraph Hill Remains of Meiggs' Wharf at left. Seawall and warehouses along future Embarcadero. Lagoon would soon be filled opensfhistory wnp37.00158.jpg|800px]] | |||
'''Circa 1882 view from Telegraph Hill shows the remains of Meiggs' Wharf at left. Seawall and warehouses along future Embarcadero. The visible lagoon would soon be filled in.''' | |||
''Photo: OpenSFHistory.org wnp37.00158'' | |||
[[Image:Meiggs-Wharf-1880s RJ-Waters Getty.jpg]] | [[Image:Meiggs-Wharf-1880s RJ-Waters Getty.jpg]] | ||
| Line 19: | Line 43: | ||
''Photo: R.J. Waters, courtesy Getty collection'' | ''Photo: R.J. Waters, courtesy Getty collection'' | ||
[[category:Shoreline]] [[category:1860s]] [[category:1870s]] [[category:1880s]] [[category:North Beach]] | [[category:Shoreline]] [[category:1860s]] [[category:1870s]] [[category:1880s]] [[category:North Beach]] | ||
Unfinished History
View northwest from Telegraph Hill of Meiggs' Wharf, Marin headlands, Mt. Tamalpais, and Fort Alcatraz, 1856.
Photo: OpenSFHistory.org wnp37.02199
Meiggs Wharf, seen in this photo from the slopes of Telegraph Hill extending northward into the bay sometime between 1865-1875, started from the corner of today's Powell and Francisco Streets, now many blocks from the shoreline.
Photo: J.J. Reilly, courtesy Getty collection
View east from end of Meiggs' Wharf, July 11, 1864, Telegraph Hill in distance.
Photo: OpenSFHistory.org wnp27.3796
Meiggs' Wharf at left, extending from present Francisco Street between Mason and Powell to approximately today's Embarcadero. At the Francisco Street beginning of the wharft stood Abe Warner's Cobweb Palace saloon.
Photo: OpenSFHistory.org wnp37.00681-L
A view in 1870 from Russian Hill showing Meiggs Wharf off the shores of North Beach.
Photo: John P. Soule, courtesy Getty collection
Circa 1882 view from Telegraph Hill shows the remains of Meiggs' Wharf at left. Seawall and warehouses along future Embarcadero. The visible lagoon would soon be filled in.
Photo: OpenSFHistory.org wnp37.00158
By the 1880s, Meiggs Wharf has enclosed and filled in a substantial portion of the bay waters and become an important lumber receiving dock in the burgeoning redwood trade of the late 19th century.
Photo: R.J. Waters, courtesy Getty collection